Pre-NCE Programme

NCE Programme

Continuing Education

Distance Learning

Office of the Provost

Dr. N.A Oyewo

On behalf of the Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo, Nigeria; I welcome you to our Official Website.

Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo, has a complex heritage reflecting its transition from a strictly religious institution to the status of a public College of Education.

EACOED at a Glance

The St. Andrew’s College, Oyo(now Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo) was established as a Grade II Teacher’s College by the Church Missionary Society (C.M.S.) in 1896 and it ranked as the oldest Teachers’ Training College in Nigeria. In 1976, the clamour for its upgrading to an NCE awarding institution began. The Oyo State Government acceded to this request in October 1980 by upgrading the College to a campus of the then Oyo State College of Education, Ilesa. In March 1983, the supervision of the College was transferred to the Oyo State College of Education, Ila Orangun. The College gained full autonomy as a full-fledged College of Education on 1st October 1985.

Mission Statement

Consistent with its historic antecedents, Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo is dedicated to the preparation of highly qualified professionals to serve as teachers, administrators, supervisors, counsellors, and other professionals in educational settings, communities, industries, and human service agencies.

Vision Statement

Emmanuel Alayande College of Education (EACOED) will be the best Nigerian College of Education and one of the best five (5) College of Education in the African Continent in the integration of (a) teaching and learning, (b)  advancement of the knowledge base through research and scholarship, and (c) leadership in service and outreach.

Core Values

Our core values include academic excellence and integrity, outstanding teaching and service, scholarly research and professional leadership, integration of teaching research and service, individual and collective excellence, long life education of individuals and community service and collaboration and zero tolerance for corruption.